India announce T20 World Cup squad, Chahal misses out

BCCI announced the squad on the Twitter on 8th September. As per the rules of ICC, team have to name 15 names for a tournament and 3 standby players.

Courtesy: BCCI, Twitter

Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (Vice Captain), K L Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Ishan Kishan, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Varun Chakravarty, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohmmad Shami, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Ravichandran Ashwin, Rahul Chahar.

Standby players include; Shreyash Iyer, Deepak Chahar, and Shardul Thakur.

Unfortunately Yuzvendra Chahal didn’t get a place in the squad who was recently went with a team to Sri Lanka tour. Washington Sundar who has recently got injured and has pulled out from the remaining edition of IPL has also not picked up. Ravichandran Ashwin will be one and only off spinner for a team.

Former India captain M S Dhoni will be mentor of the team for entire tournament.

Leave a Reply