IPL gets second finalist – Kolkata Knight Riders

SARJAH: Kolkata Knight Riders won the low scoring match against Delhi Capitals played in Sarjah . And IPL 2021 gets another finalist to play against Chennai Super Kings on Oct 15 at Dubai International Cricket Stadium.

Winning the toss, the Kolkata Knight Riders captain Eoin Morgan opted to filed first against their opponent Delhi Capitals in the second qualifier. KKR team restricted the DC boys to a total of 135 runs for five wickets in 20 overs.

DC batsman Shikhar Dhawan, the top scorer from the team, scored 36 runs off 39 balls. The following players were not able to stay at the crease for a long time. The second-highest scorer from the DC side was former captain Shreya Iyyer. He scored 30 runs and remained on the field till the end.

Varun Chakaravarthy, the KKR bowler, took two difficult wickets of the DC openers, Shikhar Dhawan and Prithvi Shaw. Shimron Hetmyer scored a six off Ferguson in the 18th over, while Shreyas Iyer hit a four and six in the 20th over.

With the help of these two batsmen, DC put a competitive score of 135 for KKR to reach. In the second innings, Shubman Gill and Venkatesh Iyer opened for the Kolkata side.

The duo easily hit 50 runs in the powerplay with no loss of wickets, which gave KKR a better start in the game. Venkatesh Iyer was at 55 runs when Rabada took him out.

The fall of the top scorer of KKR brought one-second joy for DC, but Shubman Gill was ready to take the mantle and help KKR reach the final. In the 14th over, Ashwin lost a chance to take DC’s wicket as he missed the catch.

Shubman Gill’s wicket was caught behind by Pant on a ball by Avesh Khan. He scored a total of 46 runs off 46 balls and bought KKR close to the win. A fall of another wicket came in the last ball of 18th over when Rabada bowled out Dinesh Karthik.

The same followed at the end of the 19th over, when captain Morgan lost his wicket. Though it felt like KKR will have an easy win, after the fall of 4 wickets and new players on the crease, it seemed KKR had come far away from the trophy.

The last over required 7 runs off 6 and the match was headed to a thriller ending. The third ball of the last over marked another wicket in favour of the Delhi Capitals. On the next ball, R Ashwin took another wicket, and Sunil Naraine walked out of the field.

Now 6 runs were required off 2 balls, no one knowing which side will paly in the final. Rahul Tripathi hit a six in the second last ball for KKR and the Kolkata Team won the semi- finals.

Kolkata Knight Riders will now be playing against Chennai Super Kings in the finale of IPL season 2021. This is the third time the Kolkata team successfully enters the IPL finals. And everytime KKR entered the finale, it has got its hands on the trophy.

The brilliant innings by Venkatesh Iyer made him emerge out as the hero for KKR dugout tonight as he was awarded the Man of the Match.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s