Kings defeat Knights for 4th IPL Win

DUBAI: The three-time IPL winner, Chennai Super Kings lifted the IPL trophy for the fourth time on Oct 15th, today at Dubai International Stadium after defeating its opponent Kolkata Knight Riders in the finals.

Kolkata Knight Riders decided to field first after winning the toss in IPL finale. Chennai Super Kings playing first scored a total of 192 runs in 20 overs with three wickets down.

The two openers gave a quick start to CSK. The opening batsman Ruturaj Gaikwad scored 32 of 27 balls but got caught by Shivam Mavi on Sunil Naraine’s ball. Faf du Plessis, the highest run-scorer of CSK, pulled 86 runs on 59 balls and remained on crease till the last ball. KKR was only able to take this player’s wicket out at the last ball of the first innings.

Robin Uthappa and Moeen Ali ,the two players came to play from the CSK side in the second and third-down. Both gave 30 runs addition and bought CSK to a very respectable score of 192 runs.

Defending the score Chennai Super Kings set of 193 in 20 overs, KKR opener Shubman Gill and Venkatesh Iyer started the fight for the IPL cup. The opening duo completed their half-century and bought KKR almost close to the win. But then the fall of wickets started.

After the fall of Iyer in the 10th over, the two-time IPL winnerKKR started seeing a hard time. No player was able to see a two-digit number in the upper batting order. Lockie Ferguson and Shivam Mavi, the lower order batsmen, scored 18 and 20 runs to bring the score to 165, but their combined effort could not help KKR come any close to the giant score CSK had put on the charts.

The momentum which Gill-Iyer gave to the team lost its energy in between the overs and fall of wickets. In the end, KKR scored 165 runs and Chennai lwon the fourth IPL trophy by 27 runs.

Earlier in 2012 KKR clashed with CSK to win their first IPL trophy. The Kolkata team was easily able to chase the 190 around score put by Chennai Super Kings. Though, this time the same course didn’t follow and KKR lost its chance at third IPL win.

Chennai Super Kings under the captaincy of skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni is the second most successful team after Mumbai Indians. CSK hold a total 4 IPL trophy after 2021 season’s win while Mumbai still have 5 IPL final wins in their name.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s