Padma Awards 2021 conferred to 119 Recipients: Shinzo Abe, BS Balasubramanyam, and Sushma Swaraj, among others

NEW DELHI: The 2021 Padma Awards have been conferred by President Ram Nath Kovind in the Rashtrapati Bhawan to 119 Recipients for their exceptional services in their respective fields.

The Padma Awards are one of the highest Civilian Awards of India introduced in 1954 which are given to deserving individuals for their exceptional services in fields like Sports, Social Work, Art, Civil Service, Literature and Education, Public Affairs, Science and Technology, Trade and Industry etc. The names of the awardees are announced every year on Republic Day.

The prestigious awards are given in 3 categories:

  1. Padma Vibhushan: For exceptional and distinguished service (Second Degree Honour)
  2. Padma Bhushan : For distinguished service of a high order (Third Degree Honour)
  3. Padma Shri : For distinguished service (Fourth Service Honour)

The 119 awards given comprised 7 Padma Vibhushan, 10 Padma Bhushan, and 102 Padma Shri. The most striking thing to note is that this year 29 awardees were women, 1 transgender awardee, and 16 awards were given to persons posthumously since these awards are rarely posthumously.

10 persons were from the Foreign/NRI/PIO/OCI category and along with this, there was one duo case as well ( the case in which the award is counted as one).

The detailed list of Padma Awardees 2021 is as follows:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s